2023 Porad Award

Celebrating the 20th anniversary of the Porad Award in 2023!

Haiku Northwest is pleased to announce its twentieth annual Porad Haiku Award. The contest is named for Francine Porad, founder of Haiku Northwest, former president of the Haiku Society of America, and editor for eight years of Brussels Sprout, an international journal of haiku and art. We welcome your haiku submissions!

Deadline: Submissions through the online form or by email open on July 15, 2023, and must be received by August 31, 2023.

Eligibility: Open to all, members and nonmembers alike, except Haiku Northwest officers, the contest coordinator, and judge.

Prizes: $100 for first prize, $50 for second prize, and $25 for third prize, plus honorable mentions. Poems will also be published on the Haiku Northwest website (see past Porad Award Winners). Winners will be announced at Haiku Northwest’s annual Seabeck Haiku Getaway, to be held October 2629, 2023.

Adjudication: Our 2023 judge is Billie Wilson. Billie lives in Juneau, Alaska and has served as an editor of The Herons Nest and as Alaska regional coordinator for the Haiku Society of America. Since 2003, she has coordinated the annual Robert Spiess haiku contest for Modern Haiku, and her own haiku and related poetry is widely published.

Entry Fees: $5.00 for one entry (for up to five haiku, one entry per person), in U.S. funds only. Please pay via PayPal (preferred) or by postal mail (contact the contest coordinator, address below, if you need to pay by postal mail).

Porad Haiku Award

c/o Angela Terry

822 E. Fir Street

Sequim, WA 98382 USA

Submissions: Poems submitted must be previously unpublished. Poems posted on public Facebook pages, blogs, or other websites are not eligible for submission. By submitting, you assert that your entries are previously unpublished and are solely your own original creations. If you submit using the online submission form, please do NOT also email any submissions—use one submission method only (it’s okay for payments to come separately, though, if you can’t pay via PayPal).

Additional Information: See past Porad Award results. If you have questions about the contest, please email amterry9@gmail.com. If you have questions about the submission form, please email WelchM@aol.com.